Sunday, December 19, 2010

Buddy Guy receives 5 Blues Music Awards nominations

Other nominees with Louisiana ties include Kenny Neal, Bnois King, Johnny Sansone, Dr. John, Henry Butler, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Eugene "Hideaway" Bridges, Irma Thomas and Bobby Rush

The 2011 Blues Music Awards will be held Thursday May 5, 2011 at the Cook Convention Center in Memphis, Tennessee. For more info, visit

2011 Blues Music Awards Nominees

Acoustic Album of the Year
Bet on the Blues, Paul Oscher
Booker's Guitar, Eric Bibb
Home Sweet Home, South Memphis String Band
Last Train to Bluesville, The Nighthawks
You Can Always Turn Around, Lucky Peterson

Acoustic Artist of the Year
Doug MacLeod
Eric Bibb
Guy Davis
John Hammond
Paul Oscher

Album of the Year
Ain't Got No Troubles, Eden Brent (recorded at Piety Street Studios)
Living Proof, Buddy Guy
Shake for Me, The Mannish Boys
The Devil is an Angel Too, Janiva Magness
The Well, Charlie Musselwhite

B.B King Entertainer of the Year
Buddy Guy
Janiva Magness
Joe Louis Walker
Kenny Neal
Super Chikan

Band of the Year
Derek Trucks Band
Magic Slim & the Teardrops
Nick Moss Band
Rick Estrin & the Nightcats
The Holmes Brothers
The Kilborn Alley Blues Band
The Mannish Boys

Best New Artist Debut
Chris O'Leary Band, Mr. Used to Be
Claudette King, We're Onto Something
Matt Hill, On the Floor
Peter Parcek 3, The Mathematics of Love
The Vincent Hayes Project, Reclamation

Contemporary Blues Album of the Year
Have Blues Will Travel, Smokin' Joe Kubek & Bnois King
Living Proof, Buddy Guy
Name The Day!, John Nemeth
Still The Rain, Karen Lovely
The Devil is an Angel Too, Janiva Magness

Contemporary Blues Female Artist of the Year
Candye Kane
Janiva Magness
Karen Lovely
Robin Rogers
Shemekia Copeland

Contemporary Blues Male Artist of the Year
Buddy Guy
Joe Louis Walker
John Nemeth
Kenny Neal
Nick Moss

Black Hen/Transgrease, The Mississippi Sheiks Tribute Concert, Various Artists
Delmark, Live at Rooster's Place, Tail Dragger
NorthernBlues Music, Live at Ground Zero Blues Club, Watermelon Slim & the Workers
Ruf, Songs From The Road, Luther Allison
Woodward Studio, Nothing to Prove, Mac Arnold

Historical Album of the Year
Black Derby, Chicago Blues Buddies, Little Smokey Smothers & Elvin Bishop
Delmark, Jimmy Dawkins Presents the Leric Story, Various Artists
Delmark, Live in Boston 1966, Junior Wells & the Aces
Delta Groove, Harmonica Blues, Bob Corritore & Friends
Ruf, Songs from the Road, Luther Allison

Bill Stuve
Bob Stroger
Larry Taylor
Patrick Rynn
Steve Gomes

Cedric Burnside
Jimi Bott
Kenny 'Beedy Eyes' Smith
Robb Stupka
Tony Braunagel

Derek Trucks
Duke Robillard
Joe Louis Walker
Kirk Fletcher
Ronnie Earl

Bob Corritore
Charlie Musselwhite
James Cotton
Kim Wilson
Paul Oscher

Big James Montgomery
Doug James
Eddie Shaw
Keith Crossan
Terry Hanck

Gerry Hundt, Mandolin
Johnny Sansone, Accordion
Otis Taylor, Banjo
Rich Del Grosso, Mandolin
Sonny Rhodes, Lap Steel Guitar

Koko Taylor Award (Traditional Blues Female)
Eden Brent
Reba Russell
Ruthie Foster
Sue Foley
Teeny Tucker
Zora Young

Pinetop Perkins Piano Player
David Maxwell
Dr. John
Eden Brent
Henry Butler
Mitch Woods

Rock Blues Album of the Year
Bingo, Steve Miller Band
Common Ground, Walter Trout
Live In Chicago, Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band featuring Hubert Sumlin, Willie "Big Eyes" Smith, Bryan Lee and Buddy Flett
Privileged, Nick Moss
Roadsongs, Derek Trucks

Song of the Year
Living Proof, Tom Hambridge/Buddy Guy, Living Proof, Buddy Guy
Please Mr. President, Bruce Iglauer/Wyzard/David Kearney, Bare Knuckle, Guitar Shorty
Rained All Night, Steve Gomes, Back In Style, Tad Robinson
Sad and Beautiful World, Charlie Musselwhite, The Well, Charlie Musselwhite
Still the Rain, Dennis Walker/Alan Mirikitani, Still The Rain, Karen Lovely

Soul Blues Album of the Year
24 Hour Woman, Denise LaSalle
Back in Style, Tad Robinson
Feed My Soul, The Holmes Brothers
Live in San Antonio, Eugene 'Hideaway' Bridges
Nothing's Impossible, Solomon Burke
Stomp the Floor, Arthur Adams

Soul Blues Female Artist of the Year
Barbara Carr
Claudette King
Denise LaSalle
Irma Thomas
Sista Monica Parker

Soul Blues Male Artist of the Year
Bobby Rush
Curtis Salgado
Eugene 'Hideaway' Bridges
Solomon Burke
Tad Robinson

Traditional Blues Album of the Year
Giant, James Cotton
Joined At the Hip, Pinetop Perkins & Willie 'Big Eyes' Smith
Passport to the Blues, Duke Robillard
Shake for Me, The Mannish Boys
The Well, Charlie Musselwhite

Traditional Blues Male Artist of the Year
Alabama Mike
Charlie Musselwhite
James Cotton
Magic Slim
Super Chikan


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.